News from the Pharmacy World:

3acf34adbdf158db89fe7fde4a97c4c9

 

Funny how life can change in a matter of days … sometimes hours!!

While I had a glimpse into the working world during my externship when I worked 80 hours over the course of 3 weeks at a retail pharmacy, I am suddenly finding myself working 80 hours every TWO WEEKS with no end in sight.

But that’s ok!!  I got a job offer on Monday – and was working by Tuesday!!   What motivated me most was that my first pay day will be October 31.  😉

Seriously, I couldn’t ask for a better job … Did I mention the back story on this one?  If not, here it is:

On August 28 to be exact, I went to see our family practice doc for some immunizations and things I needed for my externship at Walgreens.  In his exam room, there was an advertisement for the pharmacy next door.  Hmmmmmmm.…I didn’t know there was a pharmacy there even though we’d used this doctor for the kids since we got to Arkansas.  Upon exiting the doctor’s office, I noted the name of the pharmacy and went home and looked them up on line.  It is a small-ish pharmacy and medical supply business with only one location in town.  I emailed the address on the “contact us” page of the website.

The next day I actually received a reply (not something I was expecting after applying for many jobs without any feedback at all).  They weren’t hiring NOW … but they might be within a month, so by all means, send in my resume’.  And at that time, I had not yet had my “career development” class online so I just submitted an old (apparently “out-dated” style) resume’ which featured my past experience more than my current knowledge (which is what you are supposed to do these days!!?  Who knew?!).

Life went on – I applied at a lot of places, checked a lot of websites for jobs, completed my externship on October 9 at 3 p.m.

At 4 p.m. I received a phone call from the pharmacy I’d applied to on August 28 saying they’d held my resume’ as promised – and would I be interested in an interview?  OF COURSE I was interested … but the catch was this:  they weren’t only looking for a part-time, as needed pharmacy technician, they were looking for a medical billing person.  I wasn’t sure if accounting/finances was still something I wanted to do, but I do know I’m good at it (or at least thorough, if nothing else!!).

So, interview on Monday, October 13.  JOB OFFER on Monday, October 20.

This week and most of next week I’ll be training as a pharmacy technician.  But after that, I will be moving into my NEW OFFICE (all mine!!  They are moving some people around and preparing it for me this weekend!!) and begin to train for my primary title:  billing manager.  Sounds fancy – and I admit it’s a little exciting to be talked to and approached as a professional, as someone with brains!!  I just hope I can live up to the expectation.  I’ve got A LOT to learn!!

But I have a future … the plan is that I work in the pharmacy one day a week and on billing issues 4 days a week for about 3 months and then we’ll re-evaluate my job.  I may take on payroll as well.

I’ll also have to work 1 Saturday a month from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.  But I’m off every Sunday and federal holiday (aside from Columbus Day, obviously, since they interviewed me that day!).  There are a few other “benefits” to this job too … to include a 3 room fitness “center” that I have access to.  😉

So, God has answered my prayers in a unique way yet again.  HIS timing is perfect!!  Always.

By the way, my Drew passed his driver’s license test … but under Arkansas law, he can’t drive by himself until October 29 because that will be the 6 month anniversary of getting his permit.  He was a little bummed as was I – but for now, I am able to take a quick break from work to go pick the kids up from school to take them home since that is all within just a few miles of my work place.

So, that’s the news from my corner of the world.  My work “goal” is to be in bed by 11 p.m. If you know me, that won’t always be realistic, but for now, I’m ready for some sleep!!!

Thank you to everyone who prayed for my job situation!!  I’m so so thankful that this need has been provided so perfectly!!  

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in every day life, Pharmacy, provision, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to News from the Pharmacy World:

  1. Rebekah says:

    God is good!

  2. Amy says:

    Yay! Welcome to the new, next phase of your life! Going back to work 40 hours a week is a BIG adjustment, but you can do it (with help from God and your family!). You’ll have to let go of some things: staying up late, and keeping your house as clean/organized as you want it to be. When you get frustrated with that, take a deep breath and tell yourself that this is a season in your life. You’re contributing to your family in so many meaningful ways. And a little dust never killed anyone that I’ve heard of! 😉 Congratulations on the new job and the new office!

  3. Tanya says:

    Wow! God always amazes me with His generous blessings! That is so great. I understand about the bedtime, so I will be praying for you on that one. We have always been two peas in a pod on this one. 🙂

  4. babstig says:

    Awesome! Gods timing is perfect however much we would prefer OUR timing! Lol

    Sent from my iPad

  5. angiemart says:

    Congratulations! So happy for you.

  6. melanie says:

    Good morning, working lady! 😀 So glad to hear this is looking like a good fit for you!!! {and sleep before midnight… well, I think you know how I feel about that essential 😉 Go you!}

  7. domesticlady says:

    Congratulations on the new job, and the wonderful, albeit many, hours, and the nice days off! Congrats to Drew as well! Now go to bed. 🙂

Comments are closed.