30 Days of Thanks – 11/5/2014

2e2f33e1a6368bb060fa4f706bb3440d

 

Today I’m thankful for the place that I am in life.  We’re not spring chickens any more … and that’s okay.  I don’t miss being “young” – I don’t even miss the thrill of newlywed-ness or having that first baby.  Those were precious memories, but I am now glad I’ve learned my lessons and grown up a lot.  I wouldn’t want to go back down the path that got us here to this moment.

I’m glad we’ve gone through some of the touchy times – the first newlywed adjustments, the doubts of what to do with a brand new baby, the anxiety about sending a child off to school (or their education in general), careers and changes of careers.  There was a lot of wonder and excitement to those days … but now, we’re kind of settling in.  And with my new job, we’re re-settling in.  This is our life for the next few years, unless God shakes us up dramatically one more time.

The kids are getting more self-sufficient.  Tonight Drew was able to run some errands and take care the girls to the library for us.  Annie-Belle is starting to get a little more responsible.  My baby girl is almost 5 years old and while she’ll crawl into my lap for a cuddle occasionally, she is able to do so many things for herself now!

Our marriage is – by the grace of God – in a pretty stable place.  We’ve survived some pretty major life changes in the last few years – and we survived them TOGETHER.  There were days of tension and anxiety, but they weren’t directed at each other but instead at our mutual problems and situation.  We’re a team.  We came through this time as one!

Maybe we’re a littler wiser now … or at least I hope so.  In any case, we’ve sure gained a lot of EXPERIENCE which has filled us with much hope … the biblical kind:

Romans 5:3-5

… but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; And patience, experience; and experience, hope: And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – 11/5/2014

  1. melanie says:

    Great post, my friend. We have a great God!

  2. angiemart says:

    Praise the Lord! Such a good verse; needed it today.

Comments are closed.