30 Days of Thanks – 11/6/2014

2e2f33e1a6368bb060fa4f706bb3440d

 

Today I am thankful for answered prayers!!   We’ve had many BIG prayers answered lately, and it is great to be “on the mountain top”.  One seems to appreciate it more after coming out of a deep, dark valley.

I will admit, I’m not the best “prayer warrior” there is.  It is truly some people’s calling or gift – to intercede for others; I don’t have the attention span or that certain something to pray for long periods of time (which is why I keep a prayer journal – to attempt to keep my thoughts focused!!).  But I do also attempt to turn my thoughts into prayers when I get to thinking about someone who has a prayer request or I know of a need.  I think (sadly) most often, I just pray for ME, considering my own needs seem to loom largest over me if I don’t keep my focus outward.

Today I’m reflecting on thankfulness for ANSWERED prayers!!  We’ve had many lately:  a friend of ours made it through brain surgery today; my friend Jen is down to 2 more chemo treatments – and her whatever-blast-count is down (which is a good thing!).  I’ve got a great job which continues to look like it is going to suit me very well.  Currently, we’re all well and our cars are running.  Those are things I don’t ever take for granted!!!

I am thankful for friends who keep in touch – for new friends who have taken in my kids here.  I’m thankful for my friend who babysits MiMi – and for her preschool teachers who love her while I’m at work.  I’m thankful for Christian education!

I’m thankful – always – for my family.  They drive me crazy some times … but I wouldn’t give them up for anything.  They are God’s personal gift to me.  They are answers to my prayers.

I’m thankful that God sometimes just blesses me by answering a thought I had instead of waiting until I get myself together enough to form a real prayer.  He knows me – through and through – and I can trust Him to do what is best for me.  I’m thankful that often God provides more than my daily needs – but offers me some of the desires of my heart.

I’m thankful for forgiveness and long-suffering – not just from God – but from those who know me best – and those who know my failures.  I’m thankful for the few people who truly “get me” and know what makes me tick and what my hang-ups are – and love me anyway.

And I truly want to be thankful for the “unanswered” prayers – the times when God has said “no” or “wait”.  Even though I don’t like it or understand it, I have seen over and over that this too is God’s care over me.

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in Prayer, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – 11/6/2014

  1. Tanya says:

    Just a quick note to let you know that I am still here and enjoying your blog! Thankful that you are able to have a time of “peace” after your rough times.

  2. melanie says:

    God is faithful ❤

Comments are closed.