30 Days of Thanks – 11/14/2014

2e2f33e1a6368bb060fa4f706bb3440d

 

I am thankful for the ordinary days … and I try to be thankful for the tough days (because I know God is still in control!!) … but I am SUPER very thankful for GOOD DAYS like today!  Days when things actually go smoothly and extra nice things happen along the way, unexpected joys and blessings abound.  I know one can’t live on the mountaintop all the time – but I sure do appreciate it when I can be on up there for a little while!!  🙂

I had big plans for Annie Belle’s birthday/mystery dinner theater tonight.  This involved me going home at lunch to do some prep work.  HOWEVER, one of our pharmacists invited me to go to lunch with her and a few other co-workers.  Logically, I felt I should say NO, but I also felt like I should take the opportunity to go out with my new co-workers as it was the first time they invited me. So, I went.  And I’m really glad I did.  We went to a small Mexican restaurant I’d never been to – and it was really good food.  And when our food arrived, I paused because I usually pray before a meal … and one of the pharmacists asked our marketing director to pray over our food!!!  And what a nice prayer he prayed – he even prayed about some issues that they are facing at work and blessings on our weekend.  WOW!!!!

I told them how WONDERFUL it was to work somewhere where we can PRAY together!!  Of course, we did that all the time at my previous ministry job – but this is a SECULAR job!  And I’m surrounded by Christians!!  I can’t even begin to tell you all how THANKFUL I am for my job!!!  God put me EXACTLY where He knew I needed to be!!  (Yes, Kim C, I know you saw that coming!!)

And besides all that, one of the pharmacists picked up the lunch tab!  SO, who says there is not such thing as a free lunch?!?!!  🙂

When I got back to work, my babysitter texted me.  She was at my house and had seen all the dinner theater prep work I’d already laid out – and she asked if there was anything she could do to help me!!! SO, I actually had her peel 10 potatoes for me!  So, one of the things I was going to do during my lunch hour got taken care of as well.

Anyway … I did leave work a few minutes early, and everything worked out fine from there.  Annie-Belle’s friends were AMAZING about participating in the mystery dinner theater … and Drew did his part to play the detective even though he was invited to go to a friend’s house.  He did get to go to his friend’s later, but I think he enjoyed his part of the play as well.

Meet our cast:

Andy Dutch, detective.  Annie Belle Dutch, actress.  Sydney Smith, basketball star.  Charlene Fitzgerald, scientist.  Cara Jeffry, harried housewife.  and Bailey Tramble, Texas country girl.

get-attachment (1)

 

The “theater” was more of a progressive dinner and reader’s theater as everyone had a script … but they improvised wonderfully as well – and we laughed A LOT.

get-attachment (5)

 

They even incorporated MiMi into the theater as Mimzy, Cara’s daughter.

get-attachment (4)

 

And do you want to know WHO DUNNIT??

Well, it was Sydney, the disgruntled basketball star, who had to give up her professional career due to an injury … bitter, angry, and lonely … she plotted & executed the murder of the one person who thwarted her over and over for the last 10 years!

get-attachment (3)

 

What a great group of kids!!!  I had SO MUCH FUN doing this … but I’ll be honest with you.  I know some people thrive on having people over and hosting get-togethers (CORIE, I’m talking to YOU!!!!), and I had fun doing it today.  But I. am. EXHAUSTED. and won’t be doing this again for at least another year!!

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, birthday, Pharmacy, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – 11/14/2014

  1. Rebekah says:

    What a great idea! But, am I the only one wondering what kind of food was served at this Dinner Theater? What happened to those 10 taters? 🙂

  2. angiemart says:

    Thanks for sharing your blessings and fun!

  3. Tanya says:

    You are so clever! I really enjoyed all the pictures!! Thanks for sharing. I am so thankful you had such a great day. God is good in the good times, too. ;o)

Comments are closed.