30 Days of Thanks, 11/23/14, Part III

This is a part 3 of THE IRONIES of AN ORDINARY HAUSFRAU started in the previous 2 posts…..

So, today, Sunday, the ironies of my life continued.

If you know me well, you know I suffer from emetophobia.  This is the fear of vomit.  Since becoming the mother of 3, I am a little bit better, but I am far from cured.  I used to have nightmares about people around me vomiting, and I couldn’t get away from them … and any talk of such illness just makes me – well – sick.  Even now, writing this, I’m just slightly queasy.

Thankfully, God has been very kind to me in this regard.  And I pray He continues to be.  We’ve had a few run-ins with stomach flues and spontaneous vomit, but overall, compared to what some parents have dealt with, I have been spared.

Today, we were running late for church … which at our church really isn’t a big deal as EVERYONE just seems to kind of come and go as they wish.  And the first hour of our church is what is called “family hour”, starting at 9:30, is kind of a random time.  We arrived at 10.

As we entered, a little boy came running out of the auditorium doors … his hands over his mouth … and you guessed it!!  He’d just thrown up all around the back of the auditorium.  😦  Nothing says WELCOME TO CHURCH like a trail of fresh vomit … *sigh*

Poor kid.  And to beat all, his MOM was on stage singing A SOLO!!  Actually, I was watching her, and she was so oblivious to anyone that she finished her song, went and sat down in her pew, and someone had to tell her that her son was violently ill at the back of the church!!

Ugh.  What a way to start the day.  I guess I should feel more sorry for that boy and his mom than for myself.

Ironically, the theme of the sermon during the main service was THANKFULNESS.

2e2f33e1a6368bb060fa4f706bb3440d

 

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Thanks, 11/23/14, Part III

  1. Tanya says:

    I am so sorry for you, but I know you, and this just made me LOL (especially since I just read a really stressful email). Happy Thanksgiving to you!!

Comments are closed.