Christmas at Our House

Is it really Christmas time again?!  The temperatures around here have been hovering in the 50s and 60s…Not very Christmasy at all.  I have attempted to get into the mood by doing some decorating around the house.  I do love having a real mantle for the first time ever!!  I even bought some wood to burn if it would ever get cold enough and we were home long enough to enjoy it … maybe on Christmas day?

We have a wood burning fireplace but Daniel has said we won’t be using it much … too much work, I suppose?! … but I grew up with a wood burning fireplace in the living room, and I want to relive that smell and that cozy feeling!!  (not so much cleaning out the ashes, but we do have a 16 year old and a 14 year old who can help with that!)

get-attachment

Our tree is up in the dining room … kind of  an odd location, but since the living room and dining room are open to each other, I guess it is ok.  The bay window is the perfect place for a tree – except no one else gets to see the twinkly lights unless our back-fence neighbor peeks over!  The only windows of our house that face the street are the 2 kids’ bedrooms.

get-attachment (1)

We got this artificial tree over 21 years ago.  Our first tree as a married couple, purchased in Lacey, Washington!  It has traveled across America and over the Atlantic Ocean with us!!  And now, it – like me – is showing its age.  It is saggy and broken in places … but we still fluff it up and try to cover the flaws!

Every year I look for a bargain tree to replace it at the after-Christmas sales … but I can never bring myself to pay the money these stores require for a fake tree!!  Even during a big sale!!  And so – again – kind of like my family keeps me around year after year, I keep this old tree!!  😉

get-attachment (2)

We will light the 3rd candle on our advent wreath this Sunday … I wish I could say our family had a more thoughtful or purposeful way of celebrating the Advent season, but we don’t.  I just light the candles and that’s that.

Sometimes I wonder if our children will remember Christmas being meaningful because their mom was always so worn out to attempt the traditional things like gingerbread houses or daily, appropriate readings or songs.  But I do the best I can … we bake cookies when we can – and I made fancy treats for Miriam’s class this week as it was our turn to bring snacks:

BUT talk about Pinterest fails!!  Miriam told me the boys in her class thought our snow-man cheese sticks were GHOSTS!  And Honeynut Cheerio Christmas trees require a fast work if you’re going to shape 16 “trees” into cones AND stick on mini M&M decorations!!!  THIS is why I don’t do crafts often … Exhausting!!  (The best & easiest treat was the triangle-cut peanut butter sandwiches – tuck 2 pretzels in the long side for antlers, 2 raisins for eyes and a red mini M&M for the nose in the face of the bread.)

The big kids already had their school Christmas concert (Annie Belle sang a SOLO !!  and Drew sang the tenor part in a quintet).  The church cantata is this Sunday evening; Daniel is at an extra practice right now.

10505385_10154942513965074_2312190891549306890_n

So, yes, it IS Christmas … and whether or not I’m ready, whether or not I’ve done much of the shopping I’d like to (or have the money to do it!!) or if we get any cookies baked soon … it doesn’t change the fact that Jesus was born … and we can celebrate that every day!

I’m so thankful that God’s work doesn’t rely on ME!!  🙂

blog-sig.png

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas at Our House

  1. Rebecca D says:

    Everything looks amazing! We have a big picture window we usually put our tree in front of but I got a sectional sofa this year and there is literally no other place to put the sofa so our tree is against the wall…. Boo…

  2. Rebekah says:

    Your tree is beautiful and I sure thought it was real. We still use the same Christmas tree we bought in Bamberg in 1999! I remember paying $99 for it and thinking how much money that was for us young kids at the time. It holds a lot of memories…hard to part with it. 🙂

Comments are closed.