Enjoy a Silent Night

christmas09

 

On this Silent Night (well, sort of!), my kids are at least in their rooms … MiMi keeps coming in mine to report that her brother, talking via the computer/xBox with friends, is “bothering her” … but hopefully soon, we’ll all settle down for our “long winter’s nap.”  Believe me, I’m SO ready for a nap!!!

Today God gave me a break.  I went in to work prepared to stay until 1 p.m. when the pharmacy was going to close early, and the head pharmacist said, “What are YOU doing here??”

Apparently, it is their tradition that on holidays the most senior staff members work to give the worker-bees some time off!!  Wow, novel concept!!!  🙂  Actually, it is one my husband incorporated when he used to have a staff … you treat your co-workers right and they will work right for you!

In any case, I did work a little while and then I was home by 10 a.m. – and then after a quick trip to Target with the kiddos for the very last, last, last things we needed, it was HOME SWEET HOME!!!

What a difference a day at home makes:  my laundry is caught up, I’ve got my menu for Christmas dinner all lined up, and I got to sit down, relax, and enjoy my family for a change without all the “need-tos” and have-tos” hovering over my head.

Now we are all in our new Christmas jammies … and with much thankfulness in my heart, I am ready to reflect on this Holy Night.

(PS  Say a little prayer for MiMi.  She keeps telling me she needs some water because her throat “burns” … She ate ok, no fever, playing like normal, but mommas know how it is, we have to worry just a little about what might be lurking…)

OH – and this day wouldn’t be complete without at least ONE irony:

So, my older daughter (who is nosy and curious) reported to me that there was something in my Christmas stocking already.  The only person who had been in our house in the last weeks is my babysitter.   So, I texted her to ask if she’d put something in my stocking … which in hind-sight I probably shouldn’t have done if she HAD NOT put something in my stocking!!!!

And, in fact, she had NOT put anything in my stocking … so I had to tell her I was SURE it wasn’t my husband because he just usually doesn’t think that far ahead to do things like that.  By the way, the gift was a lovely box of very exquisite chocolates!!!

So, when my husband came home, I asked him … and he had INDEED put those chocolates in my stocking because he said he knew I’d be buying everyone something for their stockings except for myself.  🙂   Lesson learned:  never underestimate your man!!

blog-sig.png

 

This entry was posted in christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Enjoy a Silent Night

  1. Rebecca D says:

    Merry (belated) Christmas!
    Enjoy your family time!!
    I want you to know I do pop in and read your posts but since it is usually late at night and on my iPad I don’t usually comment… Sorry…

  2. Tanya says:

    Merry Christmas!! My guy surprised me, too, by putting something in my stocking.(We had said we were not going to buy for each other this year — bought a few big items to share.)

  3. Rebekah says:

    Merry Christmas! Now, go lock yourself in the bedroom and enjoy your chocolates. 🙂

Comments are closed.