This, That, and a New Word for 2015

I’ve attempted to blog a time or two in this “new year” … but my attempts have fallen flat – and based on past bad experience, I haven’t hit that PUBLISH button before I was completely sure I should.

But really?  What is there to say??

I mean, I go to work, I come home, we eat something, I do clean up stuff, I talk to my family, I go to bed.  Fun times!!  😉

I could tell you about my work … but the details of resolving on-hold sales orders by researching various insurance issues isn’t that satisfying for anyone … except me.  I will tell you that today, I had 4 very important signed and filled-out documentations that I’ve been hounding doctor’s offices for come in – finally!  It’s like a tiny Christmas gift when that fax you’ve requested (often 2 or 3 or 4 times – via phone message, fax, and email) shows up on your desk!!  I got 2 high 5’s from my boss today!  WOOT!

The kids are doing fine.  Back to school, back to routines.  Monday, first day back to school/babysitter after the Christmas break, MiMi fell asleep on the couch at 5:15 p.m.  We tried to wake her up for dinner…. we tried to wake her up after dinner.  The result was a whiny crying fit … and so I put her in her bed.  I slept fairly lightly all night, thinking surely she’d wake up some time in the middle of the night or super early on Tuesday morning … but she slept through until I woke her up at 6:45 a.m. on Tuesday!

Drew has applied for a job … actually, he’s applied for several on-line, but this one he actually walked into our local grocery store and picked up a paper application and filled it out the old-fashioned way.  I think the grocery store might be a better option for him than a fast food restaurant or any other form of teen employment without actually knowing someone who will employ you or working in the family business (which we obviously don’t  have!).  He’s anxious to be earning money, and we’re anxious for him to start gaining some life experience as we slowly ease him into the reality of being a grown up.  Since he isn’t playing any sports right now, he definitely has time for a part-time job and school work.

Annie-Belle is getting better at basketball … She went to 2 extra practices during the Break, and she got to play a few minutes in the girls’ last game.  She didn’t do anything too exciting, but she is getting the feel for being in there.  Her strength will definitely be defense, once she figures it all out!  Who knows – I’ve always said she is not athletic (like me!!), but maybe she is after all … We got her “real” basketball shoes for Christmas, and I hope she believes we really do have confidence in her!  That was QUITE an $$investment$$ in her sports career!!

Otherwise, Daniel and I continue to chug along … He continues to work overtime when he can.  I saw a term recently in our bank’s little magazine they put out monthly:  “the working poor”.  I think that defines us right now.  We are working as much as we can … and we still have nothing left over!!  I know we’re not “poor” by any means (we have a roof over our heads, food, vehicles, etc) … but we still just have nothing “extra”.  I suppose somewhere our retirement fund is building up, our health & dental insurance is covering things we can’t afford otherwise, and our debt might be slowly going down.  I am coming to grips with the situation in life that we have put ourselves in with all that has happened in the last 2 or 3 years.  We do have a plan for the future … but it is a 5 Year Plan … it will take that long (if not longer) to get ourselves back on our financial feet.

And that brings me to a final thought.  I first thought this year’s word was going to be GRATITUDE.   But I’ve changed my mind.  I think my word for this year is ACCEPTANCE. 

That comes as a result of a decision to just accept the things that have happened.  Whether they were preventable because we made bad choices or because God led us down paths that were hard, I don’t know … and it doesn’t matter.  I am tired of wondering “what if”:  what if we’d never left the active duty military path (really not an option), what if we’d stayed in Missouri (again, definitely not an option!), what if we’d stood up for ourselves when circumstances seemed wrong or unfair or reacted differently (an option, but the end result would have been ugly, mostly for us).   And there are a thousand other “what if’s” I’ve played through my mind in the last year.

While there are consequences for choices, I think there is also a path we are meant to go down – for some reason, to learn lessons, to strengthen us, to cleanse us, to test us, or whatever.  It doesn’t matter.  We can’t go back, we can’t have regrets, and we may as well just accept it.

And go forward.

13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended it, but this one thing I do: forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, (Philippians ch. 1)

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, basketball, Drew, every day life, Family, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This, That, and a New Word for 2015

  1. Pingback: Peace and Goodwill | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. melanie says:

    Acceptance is a good word. It goes well with gratitude. 😀
    Keep on keepin’ on!

  3. I like your new word…ACCEPTANCE…I once thought of that word as a cop out for a weak person who didn’t want to fight so for them there was acceptance. However, over the course of the last 18 months I’ve come to the realization that ACCEPTANCE brings contentment. ACCEPTANCE is for me about trusting God to handle things and give me His best in every situation. Perhaps I will make ACCEPTANCE my word for 2015!! BTW—I sure miss you!!!!

  4. Rebecca D says:

    I should have chosen “Acceptance” but I think I will start with being grateful and go from there!

  5. Tara says:

    Hmmm, I think my word needs to be acceptance too 🙂 Some things (and if I’m honest, people) from last year (or year and a few months) are probably best let go… Working very hard to not run ahead of God and what He has for this year – which can be hard when you’re a planner and a dreamer 🙂

  6. babstig says:

    I like acceptance! Perfect!

    Sent from my iPad

  7. angiemart says:

    My Dad says retirement has been easier once he started telling himself, “It is what it is.” He said it so much over the holidays that we’ve caught ourselves saying it a time or two. Acceptance can be a good thing.

Comments are closed.