Daybook – 1/28/2015

simple-woman-daybook-small FOR TODAY

Outside my window…
It was 70 degrees here today!!  It is hard to fathom that in the Northeast, they are experiencing such a horrific blizzard right now!  It feels like Springtime here.
I am thinking…
of how tired I am … but how even MORE tired my husband must be.  He worked until midnight on Monday, then last night was late as we were given tickets to a college basketball game, and tonight he is again working until midnight.  We’re thankful for the extra hours … but I know it can take a toll on him.  THANKFUL for a husband who works hard and tries his best to take care of us.
I am thankful…
for employment.  2 years ago TODAY, Daniel started his orientation to his current job after a stint of unemployment (and a severely broken leg!!).   While this isn’t his dream job, he likes it well enough … and it has potential.  SO MUCH has happened in the last 2 years … we’ve moved our stuff around more times than I care to think about!  And Dan’s already moved up one grade level in his organization.  After being pretty far down at the bottom, it has been great to experience UPWARD mobility!!  Even if it wasn’t as far up as we’d like to have gone!  (all in God’s time!)
In the kitchen…
there’s a big mess.  I haven’t washed pans or pots in days … UGH!  I don’t always run them through the dishwasher, but this time, I just might.
As far as cooking … we are making do with what’s in the pantry and freezer right now.  AND we’ve had enough.   Tomorrow I need to figure out something to do with a cabbage I have.  It shouldn’t be too hard – I have several yummy cabbage casserole type recipes.
I am wearing…
what I wore to work … but thankfully, things at work are very casual.  🙂  Yet another aspect I love about my job!!
I am creating…
plans … in my head.  That’s as creative as it gets right now.
I am going…
to bed early, God willing.
Miriam is taking an ill-timed nap … but she too is exhausted.
I am wondering…
what will happen with the weather this weekend.  Temps are supposed to cool down … but we’ve already been through this a few times this winter and so far, nothing major.  Not that I’m expecting a blizzard, but I just wonder if we’ll truly get more winter or not!
I am reading…
a quaint book about Dewey, a library cat in Spencer, Iowa in the mid-1980s.  It is actually Daniel’s mom’s book as she grew up sort of in the area of Spencer (Northwestern Iowa).  Anyway, it’s a look into rural, Iowa farm life during the time of a farming crisis in the area … and a little stray cat that gave a community a good reminder to remain resilient.
I am hoping…
quite frankly, the thing I am most hopeful for is that my laundry that I washed this past weekend will eventually get folded and put away!!!  *sigh*  My son folded one basket – but there are 2 more to go.  :-/
I am looking forward to…
nothing.  Ha.  There is NOTHING to look forward to right now!!!  No weekend sleeping-in (I work 8:30 to 1), no trips in the near future, no big holidays, no nothing.  :-O
I am learning…
to be PATIENT.  I was talking to my husband about something pretty serious that I want to do … and he said it could happen in a few years.  BUT I WANT IT TO HAPPEN NOW.  And he reminded me of several times when I wanted something (a new car, for example, back in the day when we could afford one!) … and he made me wait until the right time.  I got what I wanted, just not WHEN I wanted it.  Seems to be the theme of my life!!
Around the house…
It is QUIET.  The big kids are at AWANA; Miriam conked out on the couch so I stayed home with her.  Daniel is at work.  I LOVE IT (the quiet, not that Dan has to work)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am pondering…
I have recently been doing some therapeutic writing – just about the last few years – more just our financial story.  I’m wondering if there was anything we could have done differently – not to regret but as a lesson for our future.  Also, I’m chronicling God’s gracious and abundant provision during this time.  While we certainly aren’t where I’d like to be financially, if I’ve learned anything, it is that GOD WILL PROVIDE ALL MY NEED!!
(I plan to edit the 22 pages I typed and maybe share them eventually, if God allows me to, because it is part of our testimony.)
A favorite quote for today…
 149a293b7d413a3103b08540f0769a1c
One of my favorite things…
time alone.
A few plans for the rest of the week:
work, work, work (that’s for Thursday, Friday and 4 1/2 hours on Saturday) … and somewhere in there I need to go grocery shopping.
A peek into my day…
this was actually from last night.  My boss has season tickets to the Razorbacks basketball games.  He gave me his tickets (2) for Tuesday night’s game against the Tennessee Volunteers!  Unfortunately, the game started at 8 p.m. which meant we didn’t get home until 10:45 pm.  NOT prudent – but a fun time even know we’d suffer for it later.
get-attachment (2)
There were a few of us wearing ORANGE in the arena.  The game was pretty exciting – and close the entire time … but the Razorbacks won in the end 69-64.  (That’s ok because Tennessee beat the Razorbacks a few weeks ago at home!!)
get-attachment (4)

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in day book. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daybook – 1/28/2015

  1. melanie says:

    Hey friend, Glad you enjoyed the game in spite of the loss 🙂
    Yeah, the ‘looking forward to’ prompt…?… I usually let myself delete any prompts that just don’t resonate. 😉 How about this: I am looking forward to the ground re-freezing so the March mud mess can stay outside until March. 😎

  2. Hello, “Cordelia”! Love your site. Come visit me sometimes!

  3. dawnofhope74 says:

    Our family is also experiencing a faith testing financial crisis. I have learned that God always provides, even in the final hour. He is faithful and good. Keep your chin up, God knows your needs. I understand the chores issue. I wish the kids would clean the bathroom like they are supposed to. I might have to jump in and scrub it down this weekend, not that I have time, but I need to.

Comments are closed.