HAPPY HOMEMAKER! 2/9/2015

HHM

I may not be a full-time homemaker any more, but I’m still seemingly the PRIMARY home-keeper!!!  🙂  I am attempting to assign my kids more and more responsibilities, but the bulk of the management of home still falls on me.  And that’s just fine by me.  I feel a responsibility to keep my home neat and running – to keep everyone fed and clothed!  🙂

Today I’m at work but taking a little break to join Sandra for HHMonday.

The weather outside is::::

Sunny – 40°F … High of 51 expected today.  What crazy, beautiful weather we’ve been having lately!!

On the breakfast plate this morning::::

I actually made myself oatmeal this morning … Granted, we are out of Poptarts!!

As I look outside my window:::

Well, I’m at work (shhhhhhhh!!) and I don’t HAVE a window in my office.  Recently, I came across a website showcasing “mood panels” – they are kind of like those boxy-flourescent light fixtures but show the sky or sunshine or whatever you might like to see above you!  Think I can talk my boss into installing some of these in my office??!

images

 

Right now I am::::

Taking a little break from the piles of papers I need to go through this morning … and sipping my 2nd cup of coffee.

As I look around the house::::

We did a quick clean-up of the house yesterday before bed – to include my daughter wiping down the bathrooms and little daughter cleaning up ALL her little toys that tend to get underfoot … and I must say it is TERRIFIC to get up and not face a mess on a Monday morning.  I will go home at lunch and be able to just eat my sandwich or whatever I make IN PEACE because my surroundings will not be in chaos.

On today’s to do list::::

My work to-do list is pretty boring and kind of undecipherable if you don’t know what my job is all about:   ERL management, go through the Stop-Hold Report, log CMNs … Yeh, see, not too exciting!!

Our usual Monday night Bible study is canceled this week as our teacher’s father-in-law has passed away and the memorial is today.  I’m actually kind of excited to have a quiet evening AT HOME!!

Currently reading::::

Trim Healthy Mama.  I finally broke down and bought the book … I wasn’t willing to pay $30+ for it; but it was hard to find a used copy (and my library doesn’t carry it).  So, I splurged and bought the cheapest version I could find on amazon, which was still $28.  HOPEFULLY it is very worth it!!  So far, I’m like it because the authors have already sited a name I’m very familiar with back from my very early infertility days when I was realizing that I was probably insulin resistant.   I’m talking about Diana Schwarzbein, an endocrinologist, I think, came up with the Schwarzbein Principle:

The Schwarzbein Principle is a holistic guide to achieving lasting weight loss, normalizing metabolism and maintaining ideal body composition through lifestyle and nutrition. By bringing the internal systems into balance, the Schwarzbein program has been proven to: reverse type II diabetes; free people from food cravings for chocolate, caffeine and sugar; cure depression and mood swings; and reduce body fat while building lean tissue.

On the TV today::::

NOTHING!  Curious George did have a Valentine’s Day special on this morning at 7 a.m. so I let MiMi watch it before I sent her off to her babysitter.

On the menu this week::::

We are definitely eating out of the pantry/freezer this week – at least until Thursday (Daniel’s pay day).

I will be using what I have:  ground beef, chicken breasts, potatoes, onions, cheese, lettuce, beans, etc etc.  I do plan to start eating more the “Trim Healthy Mama” way once I read the book … so that will involve a little more planning ahead.

Favorite photo from the camera::::

Princesses (MiMi and my babysitter’s daughter) ready for a birthday party on Friday afternoon:

1016883_10155211400290074_3034950168678875516_n

Prayers, Inspirational Quotes or Devotionals::::

06330e45289418e6f59dd3da2e146c96

PRAYER REQUESTS:

My friend Jen had her bone marrow transplant last week – right now her “blasts” are at zero, which I think is a good thing.  The graft is taking!!  She’s still in the hospital for another week or two.  Thankfully she is out of ICU.

My kids’ teacher (Mr. Howdy-Howdy, who greeted students each day of school) who had a stroke/heart attack a few weeks ago is in a rehab center.  He’s lost use of one side of this brain – it is the speech side, so he is having to re-learn everything in a visual manner.  It’s an interesting process, and thankfully, he may make some-what of a recovery, at least enough to go home one day – but not for a while.

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HAPPY HOMEMAKER! 2/9/2015

  1. dawnofhope74 says:

    I loved reading your daybook. I feel a bit disassociated from some of the other daybooks because I word and not all of the questions fit me. It is nice to meet someone else who struggles between work and home here too.

  2. Tanya says:

    Curious George Valentine special was on at our house, too! 🙂 I have heard about the THM book from several. I would love to know more of your thoughts on it as you read along.

Comments are closed.