The Healthy Hausfrau Update: 3/19/15

How much did your babies weigh when they were born??  Mine were 7 lbs, 7 oz; 7 lbs 6 oz; and 7 lbs respectively:  Drew, Annie-Belle, and Mimi.

Why do I ask?  Well, it puts things in perspective for me.  I have lost 8 lbs and 2 oz since I first began my new “life style” change / semi-THM diet on February 25.  That’s more than one of my newborns!!

These are technically 8 lbs and 2 oz that I SHOULD NOT HAVE EVER PUT ON in the first place … and believe me, I’ve got plenty more I could give up!!  BUT lest I beat myself up for letting myself go in the first place, I wanted to be thankful that I AM GETTING HEALTHIER!  My sugar consumption is at an all-time low.  🙂

I haven’t done things 100% the Trim Healthy Mama way because I *will* eat bananas and I *will* use honey again in the future (2 of God’s gifts they discourage because of their high glycemic index factors).  Same goes for potatoes!  I will eat them again – and I have actually had a super small baked potato and some amazing HOME MADE-HAND MADE potato chips in the last few weeks.

My main goal isn’t to deal with weighing out my proteins and carbs and fats (like THM wants you to) … but to focus on GOOD proteins and carbs and fats.  I’ve loved eating 1/3 less fat cream cheese, natural peanut butter, and sour cream!  Oh, and my Greek yogurt (MiMi calls it “Mom’s ice cream” because the Oikos OOO kind that I get is SO creamy).

I’ve probably had “an apple a day” (along with some almonds) as snacks … and coffee each morning with sugar-free creamer.  Today I had BACON for breakfast.   (Even though there ARE pop-tarts in the pantry.)  I’m eating berries and wonderful salads almost daily – plus veggies like celery and bell peppers.

I’ve had a few bites of birthday cake at work or a small bowl of ice cream once … and I don’t feel guilty.  This is about BEING HEALTHY.  Making good choices … and now the goal is to KEEP AT IT!

I miss bread … a little … but I eat WASA rye crisps and other sort-of breads for now.  It is pretty easy to throw out the mushy buns when I have had a cheeseburger (or bacon cheeseburger!) for lunch.  I try to include a side salad … which I love … with a creamy dressing or oil-based dressing (just a few teaspoons).

Don’t ask me too much about my water consumption.  That is SO hard for me.  :(~  I do drink at least one bottle of water at work … with the help of a crystal light-type flavor packet.  AND in a desperate moment I do drink Diet Coke (my life-long addiction) – but that might be better than a candy bar?!!

And speaking of chocolate … I have always been a milk chocolate kind of girl.  EUROPEAN milk chocolate if I can get it!!  But lately, I’ve been easing into the world of dark chocolate.  I have successfully eaten 74% cocoa without regret – and have a 85% cocoa bar at home that I plan to make something with (kind of a breakfast bar with peanut butter and coconut oil).

I have a big ol’ jar of coconut oil at home, too … but so far, I haven’t done much with it.  I am just not used to using it.  There are several recipes I want to try with it in the future.

But for now, I’m just easing into this new way of eating and thinking.  It’s about time!  My old metabolism is definitely far slower than it used to be … and if I can keep this up, I won’t dread my upcoming triglyceride check-up in April!

To put things in perspective:

fat_5lb_brick

(by the way, ^this isn’t me^!  It’s a stock pic off google.)

And I’ve lost a brick and a half off my body.  Hopefully I’ll soon be a few more “bricks shy of a load” too.

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

This entry was posted in healthy home, THM. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Healthy Hausfrau Update: 3/19/15

  1. Tanya says:

    Well, I ate NO sugar for a month and did not lose any weight (that I could tell — didn’t really weigh in). Phooey!!! We have still been eating clean, but we did “cheat” a lot while my college kid was home.
    I am so happy for you!!! Keep it up!!

  2. Rebekah says:

    Yay for progress! Keep up the good work!

  3. melanie says:

    Well done, you! I was just wondering about you earlier this week, and how the THM-ing was going for you 🙂
    Happy first day of spring!!!

  4. Amy says:

    Way to go! I know that cutting sugar is not easy! I may have to check out that THM book.

  5. babstig says:

    Great job friend! Working on moving more and eating more clean. 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Comments are closed.