“Really, I’m Fine”

I have neglected blog reading for a while just due to LACK OF TIME …

So, today I finally had a chance to catch up on some reading and came across this article:

20150420-Elder-RicherLife

No, Really, I’m Fine

Wow … a lot of that I could have written too – in fact, I did somewhat write that on Thursday night after my failed attempt to connect with some ladies from my church … I see myself in the broken relationships, lack of wanting to trust, and the isolation-ism!!

Some quotes that resonated with me:

Here’s how Drs. Henry Cloud and John Townsend describe isolation in their book Safe People:

“Typically, people who [learn to do without friendship] don’t make a big fuss about things. They get their lives in order. They bury themselves in work, service, or other worthwhile venues. And they try not to think about what they’re doing without.

The disconnected part of the soul isn’t a very rude or demanding entity. It tends to die quietly, gradually withering away like a starving infant. After a period of time, you may no longer even be able to feel the pain of isolation. At that point, less pain but more damage is occurring.”

~ and ~

I became a woman with her face pressed to the glass, peering in through social media. I desperately wanted to connect but couldn’t find the courage. The Bible calls this broken-heartedness.

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” {Psalm 34:18}

~ * ~

And this ending:

Are you the mom who has “had it” with people? Like me, with your face pressed to the glass? Have you resolved to live in isolation because it feels safe? If so, I trust God will comfort you, the way He has comforted me, and meet you where you are now. I hope you will find the strength and courage to teach your children that life is richer when we share it with others.

~ * ~

I am cautiously hopeful that my new business with Mary & Martha won’t just be another way I can keep busy and cover my isolation … but perhaps become an outlet where I too can learn that “life is richer when we share it with others.”

Thank you to all my friends here on my little bloggy corner of the world who do just that:  share life with me!

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

 

 

This entry was posted in church, Mary & Martha, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Really, I’m Fine”

  1. Tanya says:

    My brother just read the “Safe People” book. Interesting it is coming up here, too. I may have to read it.

Comments are closed.