Faces of July 4th

20150704_095526

We started our holiday weekend out at Urgent Care with Annie-Belle.  Her ear had been hurting since Wednesday, but home remedies were failing.  So after a very painful night last Friday, we went to see the doctor on Saturday morning.  Thankfully, we got it out of the way – it was just a case of swimmer’s ear … and the sweet Arkansas country doc suggested we mix us up some “swim ear cure” – which is just equal parts vinegar and warm water to use after swimming.  Meanwhile, some antibiotic drops should ease the pain along with motrin.

 

 

 

 

For me personally – quite honestly – it has been the “bummer summer”.  I haven’t had to work during summer since I had Miriam until now … and I miss the free time with my kids – lazy or fun-filled days of doing whatever came to mind.  I think my kids miss having me around too.   Or at least having me at their beck and call to go on summer-time adventures.  They have a few obligations (volunteering at the VA, etc) and other things going on, but mostly, the big kids just babysit MiMi and hang out at home.

20150704_193201.

But I’m trying to find some happiness in the midst of our situation because it can’t change right now.  Saturday evening I spent some time at the park with MiMi; something that used to be a frequent occurrance but is now a sweet privilege.

Drew’s friend who lives in Texas now is staying with us for 2 weeks.  Even the big boys came out on Saturday night to play with sparklers.  That’s about the extent of any fireworks we had.  But it was fun …

20150703_221019

 

MiMi was a little scared of the sparklers at first but overcame her fear quickly:

20150704_214144

 

And Annie-Belle – who was already feeling much more pain-free – was an old sparkler pro.

 

20150703_220654

 

At this point we’re back to reality … and the constant, nagging rain we’ve had here since Monday seems to fit my mood.   Still, I try to remember to be thankful for God’s provision just in different ways than I ever expected.  🙂

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Faces of July 4th

  1. Ruth says:

    We’ve had a busy summer here. My grandson is spending a lot of time sleeping on our couch. He’s about 6′ tall now and sleeping on a small couch is quite an accomplishment, but he doesn’t seem to mind and continues to come back. Truth is, he could sleep more comfortably in the other camper but still likes to be here with us. We do have bear that wander around at night and it can be a bit intimidating.

    The garden is coming along. We also had lots of rain and cooler than normal temps, so it got off to a slow start. We’ve had chard and our first summer squash and I made kale chips last night. Still would like to be home more myself, but so far it’s working out well. Of course I do not have 3 children at home to tend to. I think if I did it would make me a little crazy.

    I’ll be praying that God will continue to stretch your time a little each day so you can get done what needs to be done and also enjoy your summer a little. I pray that you will be able to recover financially and feel a bit more at ease about that situation.

    God bless you all!!!

  2. Tanya says:

    So how do you administer the “swim ear cure”? Swab in the ear or use a dropper? Interesting……….
    Sorry that your summer is not what you had hoped!

Comments are closed.