Daybook 7/13/2015

simple-woman-daybook-large

 

For Today… Monday, July 13
I love my little blog … but today my brain is in a big swirly mess – a million and one thoughts (not all of them edifying!).  I want to share the things we do – the GOOD things – while being optimistic about the less-good things …
and so, maybe the Daybook will bring some order to my mind.
Outside my window…
It is HOT.  HOT HOT HOT.  Heat-advisory HOT.  Yeh, it’s THAT hot.
I am thinking…
about this summer … I’ve labeled it the “Bummer Summer” as things aren’t going as smoothly as I’d hoped with me working and the kids home alone.  😦  It’s not that they are unhappy as such – but there are no swimming days, no park mornings, no leisurely breakfasts, no sprinkler-playing afternoons.  Those things CAN happen – but in the evenings or on weekends.  We take what we can get.
Drew has a friend here for 2 weeks so he’s pretty happy.  Annie-Belle is going to church camp with a friend next week while MiMi spends a few days with her grandparents.  We have a trip planned to Tennessee in August …
No one guaranteed us a SUPER FUN day every day.  We are learning to be thankful for what we have and look forward to the more rare special times.
I am thankful…
for a job.  It is totally cramping my summer fun, but it provides a huge need.  And my work isn’t stressful; I have pretty great co-workers.  The over-all environment of where I work is based on values and small, hometown business.
I am wearing…
what I wore to work …
I am going…
cRaZy.  Oh, wait … I was already there.
I am wondering…
how long this latest whiny phase will last with our 5 year old … if my 14 year old will EVER unload the dishwasher without being reminded … and if my 16 year old really thinks he is as smart as he thinks he is (ha!)  …
I am reading…
Emily Freeman’s new book (pre-release) called SIMPLY TUESDAYS. 
It is – ironically – about embracing and cherishing EVERY DAY LIFE … the ordinary (and I’m ALL ABOUT ordinary!).  🙂
I am hoping…
my attitude will be adjusted and I’ll remember to look for the JOY, not the struggle.  To focus on what I have, not on what I don’t.  To remember HOW GOOD God has been to us all along.  No matter what.
I am learning…
contentment (all over again)
In my garden…
My “garden” … which consists of 5 tomato plants is rather sad.  In fact, the plants themselves are growing, but there are NO flowers, no signs of little green tomatoes.  😦  I put some fertilizer stuff on them recently … but I think it might be too late.  So, my legacy of “THE BLACK THUMB” continues.
In my kitchen…
is somewhat closed.  For one, it is TOO HOT to cook.  For another, I’m uninspired.  I did make some kind of a potato-sausage skillet meal the other night (you cover the whole she-bang with chicken broth & let it simmer).  It was pretty delicious.  Right now my poor family is mostly subsisting on hot dogs, “fix-it-yourself” and eating out (pizza yesterday, Chick-Fil-A tonight since it was “Kids Night” there).
A favorite quote for today…
“Some times you win … some times you learn.”
A peek into one of my days…
oh, it really isn’t that interesting – and I’ve told you about it before:  get up, go to work, come home, clean up, try to settle down and gain a few moments of peace … and repeat.
One of my favorite things…
as always, my quiet times.  It is getting harder to have as my children are taking after my night owl ways, and our house is small so there isn’t a cozy spot for every one when we all seek to do our own thing.   But I make do.  🙂
From the board room…
Just a little promotion from my Mary & Martha business (and yes, it is still up & running … slowly but steadily)
These items are retiring once the new catalog comes out in August:  get ’em while they last!
11692485_10153447440532930_1869900676604793458_n
The JULY special is the BLESSINGS card holder for $22
60110_large
(^it is also cute with random family photos or other sentimental items on it!)
If you’re interested in anything, contact me personally and I can probably set you up with FREE shipping!!  🙂
blog-sig.png
This entry was posted in day book, every day life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daybook 7/13/2015

  1. Tiffany says:

    Hope things get better

  2. Love the cardholder!

  3. Tanya says:

    LOL!! So there with you on having my kids roaming around in the late night hours. They are taking after me, too, and it kills Tim. 🙂

  4. Five, fourteen and sixteen? You have your handsful! But . . . they do sound normal, despite the whining, the need to be reminded about the dishwasher and well. the sixteen year old thinks he’s smart because that’s probably his job right now too, I don’t think humility comes that young . . . sadly. Be patient and remember . . . they are the ones who will be picking out the T-shirts you wear in the nursing home! My mother taught me that. 😉

  5. melanie says:

    Emily Freeman? Would that be the Nester’s sister Emily? just b/c it sounds like a book one of them would write 😉 And a PRE-release! You are extra special, my friend!
    I have a friend here who’s been reading ‘The Best Yes’ or something like that — she plans to loan it to me. Hopefully before my girls go back to college. 🙂

Comments are closed.