School Daze

Today it is rainy … it thundered and stormed throughout the night.  My 5 year old crawled into my bed around 4:00 a.m., rambling about the loud booms and noises keep her awake.  She wasn’t scared … she just wanted someone else to be awake.  And so, we cuddled up and fell asleep again until our usual wake-up times.

It would have been nice to be home-schoolers today.  I miss that – staying in jammies a while longer, not starting school until 9 a.m. if we didn’t want to, not rushing that first cup of coffee.  And yet I think my family NEEDS the routine of getting up and getting moving or else we’d all be total home-body slugs!  We aren’t the most ambitious of peoples by nature.

And so, I sent my kids off to the Christian school on Monday.  This year they all 3 started school on the same day.  It IS convenient that they are at least in the same facility – and their school days are now all 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Miriam started Kindergarten.  In some ways, I am not as sad as I thought I would be.  It is almost like I’ve accomplished growing my “babies” … although lately a few friends have had a new baby – and seeing those pictures of all the newborn-ness makes me nostalgic.  HOWEVER, those brand new mommas have all the angst and responsibility and not-knowing-what-to-do times ahead of them – those times with babies and toddlers and preschooler I have now passed – x3.  We’re moving on to NEW adventures.

TEENAGERS.  Truthfully, overall, I love having teens in my home!  While my daughter can be emotional (for no reason at all?!) and my son is trying hard to be independent, I love the conversations we have – watching them process and reason and attempt to make good decisions.  Granted, I have my own degrees of angst about this stage – but I think overall, I truly do believe that God’s got this!

And that thought makes me feel better because my son is a SENIOR.  This is IT!  I am thankful for the friends I have who have already successfully forged this ground – who are proving to me there are good young adults out there, making good decisions and a difference.

At least my other daughter is “only” a Sophomore … but these next 3 years with her will no doubt go equally as fast.

This is our 3rd year to attend the same school here in Arkansas.  Wow – times flies, doesn’t it?!    When we came, Annie-Belle was going into 8th grade; Andrew, 10th; and Miriam was in the 3 morning-a-week K-3 program!

picmonkeycollage2

 

So, we’re 3 days into this school year … and frankly, we’re all exhausted already.    I’m trying to get everyone to BED on time (including myself) – but we are just night owls who like to sleep in … Will this cycle ever be broken?!  I’m not sure!

 

11898596_10155995442305074_5662527665538367243_n

 

 

^^  This is Mimsy at 7 a.m. this morning.  She was NOT wanting to wake up!!  I can’t blame her.  Neither was I.

And speaking of Mim, look at her blankie.  It has been with us all her life – now grayed and faded but still beloved.
391099_10150943753550074_287298924_n

 

I can’t even quite remember who gave us this blanket – but it has definitely been a favorite from the very start:

18354_376509065073_3151749_n

 

(^^ Mimsy and I coming home from the hospital, December 24, 2009)

Time flies, possessions fade … but memories linger.

blog-sig12

 

This entry was posted in every day life, Family, MiMi, school. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to School Daze

  1. Brenda says:

    So good to find your blog again. It was there in my favorites all along. My youngest is starting 9th grade this year. I look forward to catching up with you!

  2. Rebekah says:

    I love being a night owl! Can’t believe you have a Senior. I remember watching that little one in the nursery in Germany. Blankies! I’m not ashamed to admit that I still sleep with mine. lol Not sure how many more washings it can take. It’s literally on it’s last thread. 😦

  3. Tanya says:

    Reading your blog makes this fellow night owl smile! Time definitely flies by and reminds me that every day should be cherished. Took our #1 back to college on Friday, and we have ALL felt his absence this week. And, btw, yay! for favorite blankies. We have a girl who loves her blankie, too. Miss you so much already! The time together was so fun but so short.

Comments are closed.