Think on THESE Things

78553_large

(This post IS NOT about Mary & Martha’s “think on these things” ^ collection – pieces pictured above – but they DO seem to fit in nicely – I love how my business and my faith can reinforce each other!!)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One of our associate pastors preached today.  His message was about what we “meditate” on – not transcendental meditation but a Christian meditating on the Word of God.  His point was that what we dwell on (meditate on) is what we will live.

If you’ve read my blog long, you notice I am always pursuing the ever-elusive JOY of salvation … and just plain ol’ joy in the every day.  Joy when life is hard or when things don’t go the way we’d planned or hoped.   I lose my joy very quickly when I think about our financial woes or the fact that I *have to* work outside my home or that we don’t often come by things easily – and things in general like the fact that Christians hurt other Christians and there are so many abuses in churches …

But today a lightbulb came on for me as the speaker shared these familiar verses:

Philippians 4:8

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

He turned that around and mentioned that we all too often think about what is UNtrue, what is DIShonest, what is UNjust, IMpure, UNlovely, and of a BAD report.  There is NO virture or praise in those things!!!

Exactly what I do every day!!  I dwell on the negative, the ugly and hurtful and hard things.  And that sucks the joy out of life.  Granted, there are unpleasant things in this world and always will be.  People will always be evil and sinners and do atrocious things … but I’m talking about dwelling what GOD promises:  He will right all wrongs one day, He knows what is going on down here, He sees and hears all and is taking notes.  AND He LOVES me.

God is always true, always honest, always just, always pure, always lovely, and always of a good report.  There can be virtue and praise in Him … in dwelling on HIM instead of dwelling on all that is the opposite.

I realize I have bad habits in my thinking, and they won’t change overnight … but today I am resolved to work on THINKING ON THOSE THINGS which God wants us to — and keeping HIS joy in my heart – and in my HEAD!

77971_large

(^ The “Think on These Things” collection – to include mugs – is available on my website:  www.mymaryandmartha.com/connyshaus  I had not intended to turn this into a sales pitch … but I do LOVE these products and would love to share them with you! )

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in church, Devotional Thoughts, Joy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Think on THESE Things

  1. Ruth says:

    Still thinkin’ and hoping all is well. ***hugs***

  2. Ruth says:

    Thinking about you this afternoon. I know you’re a busy workin’ mama now. Hope you will have a great weekend!

  3. Ruth says:

    Workin’ on that “thinking on” thing myself. I’ll pray for you… you pray for me 🙂

  4. melanie says:

    Great verse to ‘think on’ my friend ~ Yes, yes, yes to Truth!

    {Greetings from Brasov!}

  5. Brenda says:

    Funny thing, I commented this very scripture on another blog after reading her post about having a ‘grateful journal’!
    Who has time to think negatively or pessimistically when we consciously choose to ‘think on these things’? I am a work in progress!

  6. Tanya says:

    Don’t we all need this reminder from time to time!?!?! I know I do. I like what our new adult Bible teacher (for Sunday School — not called that these days) always says……… something like, “We don’t have to be discouraged (referring to current events, circumstances, etc. what you are talking about). We already know Who wins! And we are on the winning team!” :o)
    I am going to try to find JOY, too, this week!

Comments are closed.