30 Days of Thanks – Day 1

431e9dba4a57cacb80312724b29466ca

In November of 2009, about a year after I started blogging, I started celebrating 30 Days of Thanks in November.  I’m not sure I managed to follow through every year since, but the years I did, it was such a great reminder to be THANKFUL every day.  There is much to be said about gratitude … it definitely does affect the ATTITUDE.   I am not promising I will post every day this year either; my life doesn’t always allow me the peace of mind to write – but I will attempt to do my best to be THANKFUL all month long.  🙂

Thinking back, November of 2009 is when I first connected with a few bloggers and friends who are still reading along today (or whose blogs I still follow, too) … [Remember Mamabuzz, Melanie??  It is how we first met!]

My blog is the record of our families’ days … it is an outlet for me to share what I am learning, to ask for advice and prayer, and to just fulfill my need to write.  It is kind of my therapy – which I happen to share with the internet!  It also once got me in some pretty serious trouble … but I learned a valuable lesson through that episode about who truly is a trusted friend and who isn’t.  If you’ve been around a while, you may remember the great transition from blogspot to wordpress as I dumped some nosy readers!!

While I still risk some criticism or being again misunderstood at any time by sharing my words with the world wide web, it is worth it to connect with the trusted friends who continue to read my blog.  It is my introverted version of making my voice heard even when I don’t have a daily interaction with people.  And so, I am thankful for this blog … and for those of you who stop by to visit me here!

I am also THANKFUL for all of you who said you’d be praying for my Annie-Belle in her friendship situation right now.  She is “over it” for the time being … It helped that she had a short “fall break” from school on Thursday and Friday to remove herself from those “friends” at school to gain some perspective again.  She also participated in what she enjoys most last week:  drama!  (as in acting.)

Our church holds an annual House of Destiny at Halloween time, and Annie-Belle and Drew both had a part in it this year (Drew, a little reluctantly!).  So, the kids spent the last 3 night performing their parts from 7 to 10 p.m.  At last report, several people accepted the invitation at the end of the program to pray to accept Jesus into their lives.   And that makes it all worthwhile.

Since Daniel worked 16 hours on Friday and 12 hours on Saturday, it was pretty much just me and Mimsy at home to man the door for the trick-or-treaters we had stop by.  Mimi dressed up as Princess Anna (from Frozen) to greet them … and she also visited the nearest neighbors.

12187735_10156242952430074_7363604292630197095_n

We live in a pretty big neighborhood in town … and there were a lot of sweet princesses, pirates, minions, and other colorful characters who stopped by.  My favorite was a little boy in an inflatable glow worm costume, complete with lights inside of it!

We also dressed up at work on Friday … I work with some pretty interesting characters (Alvin & the Chipmunks, a Ghostbuster (too bad you can’t really see his costume), Victor Vega, Rosie the Riveter, Minnie Mouse, a baseball player, a football player, and a gumball machine!

10614133_10156238421715074_6440669982082817962_n

Oh, and that’s me in the Army uniform in the back row … but I’m not even sure you can see me in the camoflage!

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 1

  1. Tanya says:

    I am thankful for your blog, too! ;o) Super cute Princess Anna that you have there!!

Comments are closed.