30 Days of Thanks – Day 2

431e9dba4a57cacb80312724b29466ca

While I’m not really always thankful for Mondays any more … I am thankful I have a job.  Today was my payday – and I am thankful God is providing for us through employment.  It wasn’t my fondest wish to work outside my home; but God has brought me to the acceptance of the fact that I am capable – if not to keep up with EVERYTHING AND EVERYONE adequately – because I do have skills that are marketable.

I don’t think I’ll ever get over having experienced unemployment.   It makes the Fridays when Daniel works 16 hours and Saturdays when he works 12 more be something to be thankful for!  It makes pay days that much more satisfying.  We have work!

I am thankful our parents instilled work ethic into us – and it seems like it has taken at least in our son, who works 20-25 hours a week at his job.   He is planning his financial future, which will soon (hopefully) include buying himself a vehicle (with our help).

And I suppose I can include work ethic into the jobs that aren’t paid too … I definitely can’t run this household on my own – and am always grateful when someone else in the family steps up!

I am sure wiser investments or different career paths may have made this time of our lives a little easier, but it is what it is.  We are hopeful that some day things will be easier financially … and at that point, I guess the leisure or traveling we might be able to do will be that much more appreciated too?!

blog-sig12

 

 

 

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 2

  1. Ruth says:

    So happy to see you are doing this again. I will look forward to this bit of encouragement in my inbox each day. I too am extremely thankful for a good job. I look forward to retirement and the things I might be able to do then, but know that there is much to do before that day.

    Happy Tuesday.

Comments are closed.