HodgePodge – 11/18/15

Hodgepodgebutton

Since my 30 Days of Thanks bombed this year … I thought I’d take the pressure off myself and just blog when I can – which happens to be TODAY.  Wednesday is my late start morning … although it is also my late ending night.

So, it’s HODGEPODGE day with Joyce and friends:

1. What’s surprised you most about your life, or about life in general?

May I say EVERYTHING??  I think what took my by surprise the most is how it has not gone anything like I imagined when I was a college student or a newlywed … but that even that is okay.   I have learned to say “God’s ways are not my ways, although God’s ways are better.”

Also, what’s surprised me most recently is how much I love having TEENAGERS in my home!!  In fact, I don’t want them to grow up and leave me.  When I first became a mother, people would say things like, “Enjoy these days with your sweet baby … because one day they will become teenagers …” like that’s a bad thing.   It’s so not.  I am thankful for pretty great kids!!
2.  Among others, these ten words were added to the Oxford English Dictionary this year…awesomesauce, beer o’clock, brain fart, buttdial, cat cafe (apparently this is a real thing), fatberg (gross-read the definition here), fat shame, hangry, Mx (gender neutral), and skippable. 

Your thoughts? In looking over the list, which word do you find most ridiculous? Which word would you never in a million years say out loud? Which word would you be most likely to use in conversation?

I find Mx ridiculous … recently (well, a few months ago?), a professor at my home-town University of Tennessee made a statement about no longer using masculine or feminine pronouns (which thankfully wasn’t approved):

utgenderneutral_93fda54f011c0c7f01a9e5a69511cc9f.today-inline-large

I don’t see myself as confrontational or narrow-minded … but apparently, I’m fairly TRADITIONAL!

I, too, would never say fatberg or fat shame since I never knew those words existed.

I have been known to shout “awesomesauce!” and I have been hangry …

3. Do you like gravy? Is there a food you’d rather not eat unless it comes with gravy? Do you make your own or buy the canned or store-made variety? Turkey and gravy, sausage gravy, mashed potatoes and gravy, country ham and red eye gravy, biscuits and chocolate gravy, pot roast and gravy…which one on the list is your favorite?

Yes, I’m un-American … I do NOT like gravy – not white gravy, not brown gravy, not sausage gravy, not any kind of gravy.  I don’t like eating grease, and I love my meat or potatoes very dry!   I do attempt to make gravy for my family – but it is usually just from a packet.

I have learned about chocolate gravy now that I live in Arkansas … and that is the ONLY gravy I’ll ever eat.  I can’t make it often (actually my daughter makes it for us) – but yum!!

4. Do you have a plan? Do you need a plan? Have you ever had a plan fall into a trillion pieces? Explain.

Yes, I plan – I make lists.  I expect things to GO AS PLANNED.  And yes, my plans generally fall into a trillion pieces!  ha!   Mostly that happens when I plan emotionally and my husband plans logically … and he is right and I am not. :-/

Actually, when I want to accomplish a task and am determined to do it, I plan my work and work my plan.  I love it when a plan comes together!

5. November 19 is National Play Monopoly Day. Do you own the original or some version of the game? Do you enjoy playing Monopoly? How likely is it you’ll play a game of Monopoly on November 19th? Ever been to Atlantic City? Ever taken a ride on a railroad? Is parking in your town free? Last thing you took a chance on?

So, yeh, I’ve played Monopoly; we own an original game and a Spiderman version and a Junior version.  We used to play games that lasted for HOURS when I was a kid … but once I started playing my husband, who is hard-core, I lost the fun in playing.  He’d wipe you out, take all your properties, and then put you into his debt.

I have never been to Atlantic City.  I’ve taken lots of rides on a railroad – mostly in Europe.  I don’t know much about parking in my town – but I guess there is a mix of paid and free parking around.  The last thing I took a chance on??? I don’t know – maybe a new recipe!!?

6. A song you like that has the word (or some form of the word) thanks in the title, lyrics, or meaning?

THIS CHORUS:

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks to the Holy One
Give thanks because He’s given Jesus Christ, His Son

And now let the weak say, “I am strong”
Let the poor say, “I am rich
Because of what the Lord has done for us”

7. In keeping with this month’s theme of gratitude….what is something you’re taking for granted that when you stop and think about it, you’re grateful for?

I am afraid that I often take the ordinary for granted.  I get stressed out far too quickly, and I worry about the future way too much … I rush through my busy weeks, grumbling about my way too long to-do lists and getting irritated at interruptions.  I don’t stop very often to seek joy or to relax.  I wish I was more like my kindergarten who thinks EVERY LITTLE THING is something to get excited about.  I guess I could want to be more like my teens who seem OBLIVIOUS to all the things that need to get done (laundry, dishes, cooking, cleaning …) … but then again SOMEONE has to clean up the messes!!

A friend’s family recently lost their 31 year old son (husband, father) to a heart attack … and it made me realize that every day is precious.  I think I need to make more of an effort to do things that are fun and to appreciate my family in the run-of-the-mill days when we are all so busy.

8. Insert your own random thought here.
If you read this random thought, please say a prayer for what I am calling my need for a “Thanksgiving Miracle”.

It’s not really a life-altering need, but it is important to me:   we are traveling to see my parents (700 miles) over Thanksgiving week.  And we’ve got everything arranged … except my son’s job.  He asked for the week off a long time ago, and they did not approve his request.  I am so sad – and mad – and ready to go over there and threaten his manager if he doesn’t give Drew the time off (a kid who does anything they ask him, picks up extra shifts when needed, and has signed up for a leadership course with the business).  I’ve almost said he should just quit, but he’s come so far.  😦   Anyway, Drew wants to handle it and try to talk to his manager and get others to work for him so he can go … but we’re still not 100% sure it will work out.  My mama-heart wants to intervene – so this is hard.

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to HodgePodge – 11/18/15

  1. Brenda says:

    Brain fart…that’s my go-to word. I didn’t know it made it to the dictionary this year! I hope your son can get off. That has to be hard.

  2. jodaley says:

    Oh I do hope your son’s work schedule allows him time off. That’s a tough one, and I applaud your son for trying to work it out on his own. Also, I am a big fan of teenagers. So much bad press, but they are such interesting people. I miss having a houseful. Safe travels next week!

  3. melanie says:

    So much to respond to in these little hodge podge posts!:-) So I’ll just choose what sticks out as most important/retained in my achey brain…
    1. What is chocolate gravy?! chocolate sauce? Ignorance about stupid ‘words’ I like; ignorance about chocolate must be addressed. 😉
    2. Yikes about the Thanksgiving Miracle request. But your awesomesauce young man displays true maturity in wanting to handle his own problem. Meanwhile, Mama Bears Unite! in prayer to our Great God.
    Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

  4. denise says:

    love the song you picked, and love chocolate gravy.

  5. Tanya says:

    Again………it is always fun for me to read! I will be praying for the Thanksgiving Miracle that is needed. Yikes!!! Are you driving here? Wish I could see you, but I know you will be busy, and we are going to be meeting up with family elsewhere.
    I like that chorus a lot, too. 🙂 And I really enjoy my teenagers, too.

  6. I’m with you about teenagers. So far I have not found ours to be difficult, something that I’m very grateful for!

    Blessings~

  7. Paula says:

    I’m your neighbor on the linky list! Good Hodgepodge today! You are the first person I have ever known who uses the word awesomesause….LOL. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!

Comments are closed.