Abundant

It is time once again for “Heavy Thoughts to Burden Your Day” …

No, not really.  But my brain is always swirling with thoughts that analyze my daily encounters with information, with others, and with God.

Recently, I stumbled upon a statement that said something to the effect of – the Holy Spirit’s job is conviction, not condemnation.  Conviction DRAWS YOU TOWARD GOD … Condemnation SEPARATES YOU FROM HIM.

ROMANS 8:

1 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

6 For to be carnally minded is death; but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.

I want to have life and peace!

I so easily condemn myself for my wrong actions or bad thoughts.  But that condemning is telling me that I am NOT worthy of God’s favor … it is putting a block between me and fellowship with God.   It is one source of false guilt I tend to carry.

_______________________________________________________

For example, I envision it like this when I remember my sin:

ME:  “God, I had so many ugly thoughts toward people today while I was at work.  Aren’t I awful?  I am SO sorry, God, that I thought those things … Help me to love others as You do.”

GOD:  “My child, what ugly thoughts?  You’ve asked for forgiveness about that 10 times already today.  I removed that sin; I don’t remember it.  Would you just get on with your life!  My mercies are new right now … my grace is sufficient in your weakness.”

_________________________________________________________

Anyway … that’s where my thoughts have been lately.  I’m still figuring it all out … I know God doesn’t intend for the Christian life to be a drudgery – I guess I tend to think I’ll get it all wrong and miss out on something!  But I do know there isn’t any “formula” for a “successful Christian life.”  It is just a simple, daily walk of faith and trust …

My word of the year is THRIVE … and I don’t really mean it in  the sense of “to become successful”, I want it to represent more the fact that I am growing and developing vigorously – I am flourishing – I am no longer defeated.  I want to live – as the Bible puts it – an ABUNDANT LIFE.

tumblr_mlomrke5Cj1ron0poo1_500

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in Devotional Thoughts, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.