Monday: A Story Continued

Last week ended in an ironic situation that left me wanting to move to Australia … I really wonder sometimes if God delights in keeping me on my toes … and He delights in making me eat my words of frustration by coming through for me after my complaining!!  He MUST have a great sense of humor!!  And as an honest testimony to HIS goodness, I need to chronicle today as well:

a0809db71e983404a89faa36956bd095

So, today we took Drew to a Christian college across the border in Missouri for a college entrance interview.   It was more of an informational tour (for us), but we thought we’d check it out before we marked this particular college off the “to be considered” list.  I was actually more impressed than I thought I would be, but perhaps I was also feeling a little nostalgia for the Christian university I attended and graduated from.  This campus has about 1,500 students and is very self-contained (they have their own ZIP CODE!!) … and best of all, every student comes out DEBT FREE.  This school has some pretty impressive visitors such as Bill O’Reilly, Dr. Ben Carson, various presidents (not Obama), and coming in April, Tim Tebow.  They don’t admit just anyone, so we don’t even know if Drew will get an acceptance letter from them…. But anyway …

It was nice to take the day off with Drew and Daniel and go on a little road trip while the girls went to school.  We also stopped to have brunch with my in-laws before the interview.  During brunch, Drew to a text from the owner/manager of the Chick-Fil-A where he works and was asked if he could meet with them (husband/wife team) on Wednesday afternoon.  HOPEFULLY, this is a discussion about promotion as Drew recently completed a leadership course CFA offers, but in any case, we are optimistic that it is GOOD NEWS.  Ironically, they texted during what would be a school day, and normally, Drew would NOT have his phone on him as he has to turn it in to the school office each morning or leave it in his car.  But he was able to answer and make the appointment right away.

Later, Drew was in his college interview, from which parents are – logically – banned.  Daniel and I were hanging out in the waiting room, reading, when my phone rang.  It was the organization that Daniel works for, and he answered, anticipating the offer of over-time hours (which in and of itself is a good thing)!  HOWEVER, instead, it was the invitation to a job interview tomorrow (Tuesday) for the business side of the organization.  It was a job he really didn’t have much hope that he’d get, and I actually I facilitated sending in his application.  Again, normally, Daniel would have been at work, where he is NOT supposed to have a cell phone out.  Plus, this call came in on MY phone.  Coincidence?!  I’m not sure … but I prefer to think it was not.

For several years now, our family has been tracking how God provides for us – usually and often at the VERY LAST MINUTE.  I am of the opinion that this is God’s way of keeping me connected and dependent on Him.  When you literally have to ask for DAILY BREAD, you become very aware of your need for a gracious God.

Our family are the poster children for Dave Ramsey’s Cautionary Tale (if he had such a thing); you DO NOT want to be in our shoes!  Our situation is somewhat the consequences of our own choices – with many things beyond our control – because we were NOT prepared for “emergencies” like unemployment, a house that would not sell, moving out of state, more expenses than income for far too long, etc.

The point of my post is to ask my friends to please – again – pray for our situations mentioned above.  Whether or not God answers in the way I want to believe He is directing, I am thankful for opportunities coming – yet again – on the heels of bad news (our taxes, Dan’s vehicle which really needs to be replaced soon).   Otherwise, we have been contemplating our budget (that I’ve been tracking by the penny for over a year now – just as Dave Ramsey WOULD recommend!), and the only other way we see cutting something else out of it is to move into cheaper house (or duplex or apartment) for another year or two.   This makes me really sad because I love this house and its location – but I will admit we lived here because *I* wanted this house!!  I love its beautiful hardwood floors and the back yard and the open floor plan kitchen/dining room/living room and the fire place and all the storage I have.  Plus we are no more than 5-7 miles from any of our work places or school.   But what we save on fuel each month doesn’t justify the $250-300 that we are over-paying based on our budget that we could be applying to debt/emergency fund/vehicle fund.

ad0070c1d14cb6cf0aa676d06f15aea9

This could all be exciting … or disappointing … depending on the outcomes.  And my brain will be swirling with the possibilities.  Hopefully, if all goes well, I won’t be moving to Australia after all …

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in every day life, Prayer, provision. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday: A Story Continued

  1. Mrs. D says:

    I am at work on my day off. Feels great to be able to come here on days off just to get caught up on stuff I would not be able to do during work hours… like cleaning off the desk top with some cleaning solutions and reorganizing my books etc. I really am enjoying my job but feel sometimes there are too many things to remember.

    I am praying about the outcome of those two phone calls and Drew’s interview at the college. I hope you will let us know what took place very soon. We’re on pins and needles here.

  2. Tanya says:

    Are there any coincidences with God?! 🙂 I am praying, too!!

  3. Rebecca D says:

    I have been praying! Can’t wait to hear how it turns out!

  4. Rebekah says:

    Will be praying for these things this week. I look forward to seeing how our God has answered them. 🙂

  5. Amy says:

    Exciting possibilites! I will be praying about all of these things. And I’m glad you got a day off to spend with your guys. 🙂

Comments are closed.