Half Empty or Half Full?

36a8da310b20e5b9d5bf67616b11695f

It was my Saturday to work … Reluctantly, I got up (which isn’t so hard for me anymore) and got dressed (this part is harder as I long to just LOUNGE AROUND the house in my jammies or comfy clothes and not worry about my hair and make-up).  Work went by fast enough, and despite a customer who came in at 12:55 and seemed totally oblivious to us closing at 1:00 p.m., I was done with work in no time!

My plans included picking up lunch for me and Drew.  We were the only 2 at home since Daniel and the girls had gone to visit his parents.  I drove to the Chinese place we love, placed my order, and happily drove home with visions of eating my yummy lunch!!

Drew met me at the door to the house, took the food bags, and I went to kick off my shoes and get ready to settle into an afternoon at home … when Drew asked me, “Um, Mom?  Did you order any meat?”

“What?  Meat?  OF COURSE, I ordered MEAT, if you call orange chicken ‘meat’.”

But alas, while Drew’s order was perfectly fulfilled in his Styrofoam box, my box only had an unhappy pile of chow mein noodles.  AND NO MEAT.

Yeh, just my luck, right?!

And so, I had to trek all the way back to the restaurant, which at this point was overcrowded, as it is right by the university, and there are about 3 separate athletic events happening on campus today.  But I marched up to the cashier, caught her in between customers, and showed her my half-empty box and the receipt.

She showed it to the manager … and my compensation for wasting an hour of my day driving in circles and my sadness at not getting to eat my lunch right away:

A hasty “sorry” while the manager dumped a spoonful of orange chicken on my now very cold chow mein noodles.  Needless to say, since there is a survey on the receipt, I will definitely be filling it out.  I think they should have at least thrown in an egg roll for my trouble!

While I had promised to start writing less complain-y blog posts recently, I think this one is truly just stating the facts. No one can accuse me of seeing my plate half-empty …

OH WAIT.  But it really was!

 

blog-sig12

This entry was posted in irony. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half Empty or Half Full?

  1. Tanya says:

    I would definitely let them know the facts (not really complaining since the mistake was their fault!!). What a powerful little story!

  2. Rebecca D says:

    What has happened to customer service? The world has become such a rude place… People don’t put themselves in the other’s shoes anymore. I could recount many similar incidents that have happened recently and somehow I am always taken by surprise.

Comments are closed.