Here We Go AGAIN:

DSCN0134[1] (2)

We’ve been busy around here with the annual “end of the school year” events such as our school’s high school formal.  Annie invited a friend who attended her theater class to be her friend-date.  She is a home-schooler and was excited about the opportunity to get dressed up.  She’s a sweet friend and unfortunately, we don’t get to see her often enough.

DSCN0153 (2)

A friend from Missouri was able to come as well since she was visiting her grandmother in a town about an hour’s drive away.  What a happy reunion!  🙂

Formal Group

Drew was nominated to represent the Senior class during the formalities (I guess it is kind of like a homecoming ceremony?).   He was a little reluctant, but he was a good sport about the whole thing.

Formal Anna 1

Mimsy is enjoying her last days of Kindergarten.  Recently, they had pajama day:

FB_IMG_1460937533863

Next week she has a field trip on Monday … and then practicing lots for the big graduation ceremony!

20160512_101018

On Thursday I was able to attend the award ceremony at school.  Three of the Seniors received various scholarships to college.  We are so thankful that at this point, Drew has about 3/4 of his first year of college paid for already because of this!

20160512_104941

Drew also made the Honor Roll.  (And he recently got new glasses and is looking very “Clark Kent”-ish.)

He also was nominated for a Youth Excellence award from the local Kiwanis by his guidance counselor.  This award is given to one student from each local school who has overcome adversity.   Daniel and I were also able to attend the luncheon in their honor.  I felt a little unworthy as some of the student recipients overcame such things as leukemia, autism, the death of a parent, or their home burning down!  Drew was chosen because of our financial difficulty, which requires him to work 20+ hours a week to pay for many of his own expenses – like his car and soon, college.  Which for us isn’t a hardship, it just is what it is.  But I guess we have no clue about how many kids are able to just have these things provided to them by their family….and that’s ok too.  God has a different path for each of us.

Anyway, with a recap of our family’s story fresh on my mind (the guidance counselor had written an essay summarizing our family’s backward journey), I returned to work only to be called into a meeting with the owner of our business and the head pharmacist.  I went into it optimistically … I had just received my summer schedule a few weeks ago and was very content with my new schedule that would be allowing me to work 2 days in the pharmacy a week and then 3 very flexible days in my billing office, which might allow me to actually do fun things more often with my kids this summer, something I was extremely grateful for after the “Bummer Summer” last year.

Well, the meeting started out good enough – a report of the direction of the pharmacy under our new leadership … The man who hired me is transitioning out very soon.  And then the hammer:  there was going to be YET ANOTHER new schedule given out for summer.  EVERYONE was being asked to sacrifice and help while the company tightened its financial belt a little bit … and shifts were being shortened … and hours were being cut … and apparently, my billing job was being down-sized to 5 hour a week!   5 hours in which to what I do in 3 to 4 days a week …

AND EVERYONE was being asked to “close” (ie. work until 7 p.m.) two days a week at the pharmacy. Except that I was also being asked to work a 10 hour day in our new branch store and close there on Mondays, too …. in addition to closing at 7 p.m. every Thursday and Friday at the branch pharmacy.

Of course, this news all came with the reassurances that I was a valued and appreciated, even LOVED member of the “team” and that I wasn’t the only one being asked to adjust my schedule.  Changes just had to be made at this time.

Somehow I made it to the end of the meeting, sometimes stammering something about my kids and my time being worth more to me than money and how I’d been so happy with my initial summer schedule… and I don’t even know what else I said, but in the end, I agreed to consider the new schedule and get back with them.

And so, for the last 2 days, I’ve prayed a lot, cried more than I care to admit, and prayed some more.  I’m not really sure why God allows things like this to happen and my expectations to be dashed to pieces again over and over … and why He requires me to consider doing hard things.  I just trust He knows why and is working something out.  And I also know that I will definitely be talking to the owner again next week to let her know that I am not sure I can accommodate them.  I’ve also been looking on-line at other jobs … but I am not sure if I should “live with the devil I know or start over again with an unknown devil” (so to speak!).

And so, once again, we are faced with a financial dilemma.  Is it worth it to NOT be home at dinner time 3 evenings a week??  After working with my budget again tonight, I am not sure I have much choice.  My other idea is that I ask to work even more part-time than I already do and save my company even more money by not having to pay me!  And then by being home, I cook more and tighten up on our budget by saving us money in other ways ….

So, my work environment has been somewhat subdued the last few days.  One of my friends at work just hugs me every time she sees me … Her quandary is more that she needs to work full-time too – and she has college age kids so she doesn’t have the dilemma that I do with my kids, who are waiting on me to get home each day so they can do something besides sit around this summer again.

So, please say a prayer for wisdom.  Of course, I am discussing it all with my husband, but he is also the most non-confrontational, slow-moving, not-rash-in-decision-making person you’ll ever meet.  He doesn’t like it that I won’t be home 3 evenings a week either … but he doesn’t think I should risk looking like I am not a “team player”.  So … pray for our marriage too!  ha!

blog-sig12

 

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, award, Drew, MiMi, Pharmacy, school, time management. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here We Go AGAIN:

  1. Rebekah says:

    Praying for you dear friend.

  2. Tanya says:

    BTW, Drew looks good in his new glasses, but my how grown up he looks. How can it really be possible?!

  3. Tanya says:

    Oh, Conny! I am so sorry to hear that again things are difficult. I will be praying specifically about all of this. Hugs……wish I could give you a real one!!!

  4. melanie says:

    Oh my dear Conny!
    I was SO excited to read about Drew’s scholarship and accrued savings for college — YaY!!!
    … Then the crisis with work… 😦 I will be praying for you!!!

  5. angiemart says:

    My heart goes out to you! Such a challenging work situation! I will pray the Lord makes your path clear and that your summer, whatever it looks like, will be filled with many happy moments with your kids. (Ok, and hubby too.)

Comments are closed.